The 2023 ANZAMP Meeting


The Australian and New Zealand Association of Mathematical Physics (ANZAMP) is a Division of the Australian Mathematical Society (AustMS).

The Tenth Annual Meeting of the Australian and New Zealand Association of Mathematical Physics will be hosted by the School of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Melbourne, the School of Mathematics, Monash University, and the Department of Mathematics, Swinburne University of Technology. The meeting will be held at the Rydges Hotel (Hobart, Tasmania) from Tuesday, February 7, to Thursday, February 9, 2023. There will be an earlier finish on the Thursday afternoon to allow better planning for delegates to catch return flights home. A welcome reception will be held on the evening of Monday, February 6.

ANZAMP 2023 Group photo

Group photo of ANZAMP 2023

Courtesy of Nathan Clisby and the wonderful staff of the Rydges Hotel in Hobart.

Code of Conduct

The ANZAMP Meeting provides a welcoming environment to discuss mathematical physics, where all people are treated with respect and diversity is celebrated.

ANZAMP does not tolerate any form of unacceptable behaviour by or towards conference participants.  This includes, but is not limited to, disrespectful, disruptive, violent, abusive, harassing or intimidating conduct, and exclusionary comments or jokes focusing on race, ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender, age, disability or physical appearance.  A condition of registration is agreeing to the ANZAMP Code of Conduct.

Any participant who has been subjected to unacceptable behaviour should contact Nathan Clisby, either in-person or by email.  Alternatively, any of the other local organisers or ANZAMP Executive, may be contacted in this regard.  All discussions will be kept strictly confidential and the reporting participant will be consulted before any action is taken.  Procedures for reports of violations of the Code of Conduct are detailed here.

Keynote speakers

Nezhla Aghaei University of Southern Denmark Combinatorial quantisation of super Chern-Simons theory GL(1|1)
John Baez (virtual) University of California, Riverside The tenfold way
Rinat Kashaev University of Geneva The quantum dilogarithm and its applications
Jeong-Hyuck Park Sogang University Double field theory as closed string gravity
Milena Radnovic University of Sydney Poncelet porism, integrable billiards, and extremal functions


Registration includes admission to the welcome reception, as well as morning and afternoon tea throughout the meeting.

The conference dinner is a separate cost on top of registration.  The dinner cost for student members is $60, for all other members $100 and for non-members $120.

Category Early-Bird price (before Nov. 15) Standard price (after Nov. 15)
Student $0 $50
ANZAMP Member $250 $350
Retired ANZAMP Member $150 $250
Non-Member $400 $500

Rodney Baxter Prize

At this meeting, the inaugural Rodney Baxter Prize for Mathematical Physics will be awarded. This is awarded every three years for an outstanding and internationally significant contribution to the area of Mathematical Physics primarily carried out in Australia or New Zealand. Currently, it is valued at $5,000 AUD. More information, including a link to the eligibility criteria, may be found here.

A. J. Guttmann Prize

Students and postdocs within one year of PhD conferral may be eligible to compete for the A. J. Guttmann Prize.  This is awarded at each ANZAMP annual meeting for the best student presentation.  Currently, it is valued at $500 AUD.  More information, including eligibility criteria and a list of past winners, may be found here.

Delegates with caregiving responsibilities

Applications for caregiver support grants may be submitted through the AustMS WIMSIG Anne Penfold Street Awards.