ANZAMP Meeting


The Australian and New Zealand Association of Mathematical Physics (ANZAMP) is a Division of the Australian Mathematical Society (AustMS).

The Eighth Annual Meeting of the Australian and New Zealand Association of Mathematical Physics will be hosted by the School of Mathematics and Physics, The University of Queensland. The meeting will be held at Twin Towns (Tweed Heads, New South Wales) from Wednesday February 5 to Friday February 7, 2020. There will be an earlier finish on the Friday afternoon, to allow better planning for delegates to catch return flights home. A welcome reception will be held on the evening of Tuesday February 4.

In the following week, February 10 -14, Baxter2020: Frontiers in Integrability will be hosted by The Australian National University.

Coolangatta Beach, Queensland 10

Keynote speakers

Gernot Akemann Faculty of Physics, Bielefeld University, Germany Universality of random matrices: from Coulomb gases to quantum systems
Tamara Davis SMP, The University of Queensland, Australia Adventures on the dark side of the universe
Benjamin Doyon King's College London, U.K. Hydrodynamics for integrable systems
Lucile Savary CNRS, ENS Lyon, France Quantum physics of rocks
Masahito Yamazaki Kavli IPMU, University of Tokyo, Japan Integrability and four-dimensional Chern-Simons theory


Registration includes admission to the welcome reception, as well as morning tea, lunch, and afternoon tea throughout the meeting.

Category Early-Bird price (before 30 Nov) Standard price (after 30 Nov)
Student $0 $0
ANZAMP Member $270 $370
Retired ANZAMP Member $190 $290
Non-Member $370 $470

Delegates with caregiving responsibilities

Applications for caregiver support grants may be submitted through the AustMS WIMSIG Anne Penfold Street Awards (closing date 1 October, 2019).

Past meetings
2019 Seventh ANZAMP meeting at Merimbula, NSW
2018 Sixth ANZAMP meeting at Auckland, New Zealand
2017 Fifth ANZAMP meeting at Kiama, NSW 2015
2015 Fourth ANZAMP meeting at Newcastle, NSW
2014 Third ANZAMP meeting at Melbourne, Victoria
2013 Second ANZAMP meeting at Mooloolaba, Queensland
2012 Inaugural ANZAMP meeting at Lorne, Victoria

A. J. Guttmann Prize

This prize ($500) is awarded for the most outstanding talk by an ANZAMP student member or recent graduate ANZAMP member (graduated 12 months prior to the meeting) presented at each ANZAMP meeting. The prize is named in honour of Professor Anthony J. Guttmann, who has been, and continues to be, a leading figure in the mathematical physics community in Australia. Among many distinctions, Tony Guttmann has a distinguished research record in statistical mechanics, was President of the Australian Mathematical Society and was one of the leading figures in the establishment of the Australian Mathematical Sciences Institute. Tony is renowned for the guidance and wisdom he offers to his colleagues and students, and he is a tireless advocate of programs for talented students in mathematical physics, and mathematics more generally.